Chatterbox!?!?! ME?? Never…

There’s something so sexy and therapeutic about sitting down to write a new blog post with fresh coffee, looking out my window (wondering wtf is mother nature’s problem?? Where’s the SUN!?) and having a stark white page with the little black blinking vertical thingy winking at me, patiently waiting for me to start. Beauty of it is that I can literally write about anything I want! How about some shit I learned in university, the correlation between supply and demand? Or… Rugby players remind me of the Irish, super friendly, will drink you under the table and love to beat the shit outta each other! Or Math is fun! (shut up, I like math ok?) Or.. Starbucks has hideously overpriced coffee? Or (a particularly scarring experience) My Japanese professor giving me flashbacks to kindergarten (“Claudia, talks too much in class, needs to shut the hell up and listen. Chatterbox.”)
Ok. So I didn’t learn a shit ton in university; but it has come to my attention that neither did alot of my peers (maybe because we were always busy talking…? Perhaps. I doubt it. That can’t be it.) However, proof is in the pudding (wonder where that phrase came from…wikipedia don’t fail me now).
A couple weekends ago we hit up the Wood Expo in Prince George and UNBC had a booth there. I recognized the peeps sitting there so I went over and had a nice BS with them and they were on the same page as I was, your little piece of paper that has your name and degree on it really only says one thing; if you are willing to endure 4+ years of lack of sleep, stress, endless assigned readings (that you’ll never do), professors with an accent so thick you need hieroglyphics to decipher what they’re teaching and countless group projects and presentations in your chosen field of study, then all that’s really saying is you’re either A) a really determined hard worker OR B) you know people who know people who.. ya know where I’m going with this.
Which made me wonder, why don’t they display what your GPA or if you were an A, B, C+, etc. student on your degree?? I think that would say more about how qualified you are than leaving it up to your skills in persuasion at your interview.
OK I got a little off track there.. but it still needed mentioning regarding the grades on degrees, you’re welcome post secondary education system and the employers who hire graduates, for solving a longstanding, unaddressed loop hole.
So these two are sitting there, looking exceptionally bored, in their dark little booth and I asked what they both do at the University and how applicable their education was to what they’re doing now.. one mumbled about how they use some of what they learned in marketing and the other said she uses absolutely nothing except for one thing… she utilizes her knowledge of the university’s floor plan to get around faster.
SWEET. How much did that cost you in student loans again?
I’m not sure where I’m going with this but maybe subconsciously I’m hung up on the fact that so many of us attend post secondary institutes (with these glamourized visions of money, power and purpose) but once we graduate we find ourselves in a job that really didn’t require that amount of study and the whole time we’re there (presumably, racking up debt) some of our other peers are out in the workforce, doing trades or what have you, gaining invaluable experience and making more right out of high school than we and our little piece of paper ever will… That being said, I think university was a really fun experience and I really grew into my own person there, or if you prefer the more inspirational phrase, I found myself! (Cue sappy music)

Which brings me to the meaning of life….. just kidding. I won’t go there.. hopefully ever.

Leave a Reply

